John Hays Hammond, Jr. built his medieval-style castle between the years 1926 and 1929 to serve both as his home and as a backdrop for his collection of Roman, medieval, and Renaissance artifacts. In addition, the building housed the Hammond Research Corporation, from which Dr. Hammond produced over 400 patents and the ideas for over 800 inventions. Second only to Thomas Alva Edison in number of patents, John Hammond was one of America's premier inventors. His most important work was the development of remote control via radio waves, which earned him the title, "The Father of Remote Control."
Visitors to Hammond Castle Museum are welcome to explore the castle on a self-guided tour of many rooms including the great hall, indoor courtyard, Renaissance dining room, two guest bedrooms, the inventions exhibit room, the library, the War room, the kitchens, the Natalie Hays Hammond exhibit room, the tower galleries, as well as several smaller rooms and passage ways including a secret passageway. Visitors may also enjoy the beauty of the castle grounds and a view of the Atlantic shore line.
Coordinates: 42° 35' 6.234" N, 70° 41' 33.3924" W